Who We Are and What We Do


The Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government plays a pivotal role in securing the functional cooperation necessary for national initiatives.  In the execution of the Ministry’s functions, Municipal Corporations and Special Purpose Enterprises assist communities by pooling resources in targeted areas which include among others Infrastructure Development, Disaster Management, Public Health and Sanitation.

By virtue of its remit, Local Government has a more direct and constant connection to citizens than Central Government.  This makes Local Government critical to the democratic process and a major catalyst in the execution of any citizen-centered national initiative.

The Local Government System encompasses a number of interconnected actors which include:

The Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government (central coordinating agency)

 Fourteen Municipal Corporations:

  • 2 City Corporations
    • Port-of-Spain City Corporation
    • San Fernando City Corporation
  • 3 Borough Corporations
    • Arima Borough Corporation
    • Chaguanas Borough Corporation
    • Point Fortin Borough Corporation
  • 9 Regional Corporations
    • Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation
    • Diego Martin Regional Corporation
    • Mayaro/Rio Claro Regional Corporation
    • Penal/Debe Regional Corporation
    • Princes Town Regional Corporation
    • San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation
    • Sangre Grande Regional Corporation
    • Siparia Regional Corporation
    • Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation


Three Special Purpose State Enterprises


  • Palo Seco Agricultural Enterprises Ltd (PSAEL)   - http://www.psael.co.tt/site/

Administration Building
#31-32 Casuarina Avenue Pointe-a-Pierre
Trinidad and Tobago




Fax Lines:


Palo Seco (Sub Office)



contactform@psael.co.tt, www.psael.co.tt


RDC Logo

  • Rural Development Company of Trinidad & Tobago  (RDC) – www.ruraldev.co.tt/
    • Address: P.O. Bag 992, Caroni Ltd Central Office, Factory Road, Brechin Castle, Couva
    • Phone: (868) 636-5484
    • Opening Hours: Monday to Friday · 8AM–4:30PM


  • Community Environment Enhancement and Protection Programme (CEPEP) - http://www.cepep.co.tt/


#16 Factory Road, Ste. Madeleine
Trinidad and Tobago
P.O. Box 5455

Telephone: (868) 698-CPEP (2737), (868) 698-0753/54/55

Fax: (868) 698-0166

Email: cepep.info@cepep.gov.tt

Dead Animal Removal Team (DART) Toll-Free Hotline:




  • Trinidad and Tobago Association of Local Government Authorities (TTALGA)- https://www.facebook.com/Trinidad-and-Tobago-Association-of-Local-Government-Authorities


  • Caribbean Association of Local Government Authorities (CALGA) – http://www.calga.org/


  • Commonwealth Local Government Forum (CLGF) http://www.clgf.org.uk






The role and responsibilities of the Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government are mainly to:

  • Convey the policy perspectives and guidelines of Central Government
  • Monitor the finances and expenditure
  • Render expert advice
  • Issue guidelines on administrative and statutory regulations
  • Supervise the execution of projects and programmes
  • Coordinate the activities of Municipal Corporations in order to ensure the efficient and effective delivery of services in a timely manner and also balanced growth development.
  • Act as an adjudicator in cases of disputes between Municipal Corporations